Commission of Inquiry into Moira Shire Council

On 28 October 2022, a Commission of Inquiry into Moira Shire Council was appointed under section 200 of the Local Government Act 2020.

The Commission was established to conduct an inquiry into the affairs of the Council.

Two commissioners with relevant expertise have been appointed:

  • Ms Frances O’Brien KC - Commissioner and Chair of the Commission of Inquiry. Ms O’Brien was the Chair of Ararat Commission of Inquiry and a Commissioner for Geelong, and
  • Mr John Tanner AM as Commissioner on the Commission of Inquiry. Mr Tanner was a former member of the Ministerial Panel Local Government Rating System Review, former Ararat Commissioner and former Brimbank administrator.

The Municipal Monitor’s appointment concluded when the Commission of Inquiry commenced.

  • To conduct an inquiry into matters relating to the affairs of the Moira Shire Council (the Council), including through an examination of:
  • The confidential advice provided to the Minister for Local Government by the municipal monitor dated 7 October 2022 and the confidential letter provided by the Australian Services Union dated 5 October 2022;
  • Any matters affecting the Councillors’ performance of their roles;
  • Any matters affecting the Council administration’s performance, including human resource practices;
  • The efficiency and effectiveness of the Council's governance arrangements in delivering services to its constituents, including financial management and community engagement practices; and
  • Any other matters identified by the Commission of Inquiry that have an impact on the Council’s ability to function.
  • To report to the Minister for Local Government in writing on the matters outlined above by 28 February 2023.
  • If the Commission of Inquiry determines to make an order for the payment of costs of the Commission of Inquiry under section 214 of the Act, to provide the reasons for any determination that the Council should not be responsible for all of the costs.

Have your say on Council’s performance.

Community members are invited to provide feedback on the performance of Councillors and the Council administration, and any other matters affecting Council’s ability to function and serve the needs of the shire. There are two ways this can be done: an online written submission or an in-person drop-in event.

Making a Submission to the Commission of Inquiry

Members of the public are welcome to make written submissions to the Inquiry which address one or more of the Terms of Reference.

Please note that submissions may be made public on the website unless:

  • The author requests that their submission is not made public; and/or
  • They are considered to contain content which could be defamatory.

You can make a confidential submission here:  Commission of Inquiry into Moira Shire Council Submission Form

Submissions will be accepted until 20 January 2023.

In-person drop-in sessions

Community members are invited to provide their input to the Commissioners.

  • Cobram Civic Centre - 10:30am – 3:30pm, Wed 7 December 2022
  • Yarrawonga Town Hall - 10:30am – 3:30pm, Thurs 8 December 2022
  • Numurkah Council Chambers - 10:30am – 3:30pm, Fri 9 December 2022
  • Nathalia Sports and Community Centre - 10:30am – 3:30pm, Mon 12 December 2022

Drop in at a time that suits you.

The Commission can also be contacted via or via the general enquiries line: 0499 787 677 during business hours (9am-5pm Monday - Friday).