About the Program

As part of the Victorian Government’s assistance to rural councils, $3.8 million will be provided to support rural councils in improving their information technology to facilitate remote governance and community engagement.

This program recognises that remote working caused by the coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic has created added pressure on rural councils due to the costs of providing appropriate and timely facilities, infrastructure and services to effectively support the introduction of virtual meetings and remote working by councillors and council staff. Rural councils generally face lower levels of digital connectivity, limited budgets to provide virtual meeting facilities, equipment and services and greater distances between council facilities.

As part of this, Victoria’s 38 rural councils will each receive a grant of up to $100,000 to enhance their ICT facilities, equipment and services and undertake training.

How To Apply

Applications must be submitted by 20 July 2020 by 2pm. The online application form can be accessed using the following link:

To return to an existing application please use the following link:

For further information on the Rural Councils ICT Infrastructure Support Program, please contact:

Andrew Clegg
Local Government Victoria    
(03) 9948 8536

Council Name Departmental Recommended Amount 
Alpine Shire Council $100,000
Ararat Rural City Council $98,930
Bass Coast Shire Council$99,932
Baw Baw Shire Council $100,000
Benalla Rural City Council $100,000
Borough of Queenscliffe $99,840
Buloke Shire Council $100,000
Campaspe Shire Council $100,000
Central Goldfields Shire Council $100,000
Colac-Otway Shire Council $98,952
Corangamite Shire Council $100,000
East Gippsland Shire Council $100,000
Gannawarra Shire Council $100,000
Glenelg Shire Council $98,721
Golden Plains Shire Council $100,000
Hepburn Shire Council $100,000
Hindmarsh Shire Council $100,000
Indigo Shire Council $100,000
Loddon Shire Council $98,470
Macedon Ranges Shire Council $99,838
Mansfield Shire Council $100,000
Mitchell Shire Council $ 98,463
Moira Shire Council $100,000
Moorabool Shire Council $100,000
Mount Alexander Shire Council $100,000
Moyne Shire Council $100,000
Murrindindi Shire Council $100,000
Northern Grampians Shire Council $89,750
Pyrenees Shire Council $98,500
South Gippsland Shire Council $99,070
Southern Grampians Shire Council $100,000
Strathbogie Shire Council $99,633
Surf Coast Shire Council $100,000
Swan Hill Rural City Council $100,000
Towong Shire Council $100,000
Wellington Shire Council $100,000
West Wimmera Shire Council $98,604
Yarriambiack Shire Council $72,950