Average rate increases and rate caps by council

Alpine Shire Council2.50%6.30%
Ararat Rural City Council2.50%6.61%
Ballarat City Council2.50%6.37%
Banyule City Council2.50%6.94%
Bass Coast Shire Council2.50%7.75%
Baw Baw Shire Council2.50%6.82%
Bayside City Council2.50%5.57%
Benalla Rural City Council2.50%5.27%
Boroondara City Council2.50%5.76%
Brimbank City Council2.50%5.57%
Buloke Shire Council2.50%6.12%
Campaspe Shire Council2.50%6.24%
Cardinia Shire Council2.50%5.96%
Casey City Council2.50%5.83%
Central Goldfields Shire Council2.50%7.33%
Colac Otway Shire Council*0.50%7.39%
Corangamite Shire Council2.50%5.49%
Darebin City Council2.50%5.46%
East Gippsland Shire Council2.50%5.60%
Frankston City Council2.50%6.28%
Gannawarra Shire Council2.50%5.71%
Glen Eira City Council2.50%4.98%
Glenelg Shire Council*2.10%8.73%
Golden Plains Shire Council2.50%8.86%
Greater Bendigo City Council2.50%6.06%
Greater Dandenong City Council2.50%6.64%
Greater Geelong City Council2.50%5.33%
Greater Shepparton City Council2.50%6.08%
Hepburn Shire Council2.50%6.89%
Hindmarsh Shire Council*1.90%6.30%
Hobsons Bay City Council*2.47%6.80%
Horsham Rural City Council*2.25%7.25%
Hume City Council2.50%6.38%
Indigo Shire Council2.50%6.33%
Kingston City Council2.50%6.58%
Knox City Council2.50%5.69%
Latrobe City Council2.50%5.50%
Loddon Shire Council2.50%4.92%
Macedon Ranges Shire Council2.50%5.74%
Manningham City Council2.50%5.87%
Mansfield Shire Council ##13.94%5.27%
Maribyrnong City Council2.50%5.69%
Maroondah City Council2.50%6.01%
Melbourne City Council2.50%-0.23%
Melton City Council2.50%4.35%
Mildura Rural City Council2.50%5.28%
Mitchell Shire Council2.50%8.23%
Moira Shire Council2.50%5.70%
Monash City Council2.50%5.92%
Moonee Valley City Council2.50%6.59%
Moorabool Shire Council2.50%5.43%
Moreland City Council2.50%5.61%
Mornington Peninsula Shire Council2.50%6.44%
Mount Alexander Shire Council2.50%7.54%
Moyne Shire Council2.50%4.60%
Murrindindi Shire Council2.50%6.39%
Nillumbik Shire Council*2.25%7.53%
Northern Grampians Shire Council2.50%6.11%
Port Phillip City Council2.50%4.36%
Pyrenees Shire Council2.50%6.08%
Borough of Queenscliffe2.50%5.42%
South Gippsland Shire Council 2.50%6.18%
Southern Grampians Shire Council*2.48%5.86%
Stonnington City Council2.50%4.69%
Strathbogie Shire Council*2.25%7.75%
Surf Coast Shire Council2.50%6.46%
Swan Hill Rural City Council*1.02%5.07%
Towong Shire Council #4.80%4.95%
Wangaratta Rural City Council2.50%5.58%
Warrnambool City Council ##4.50%6.50%
Wellington Shire Council2.50%6.07%
West Wimmera Shire Council #3.50%6.02%
Whitehorse City Council2.50%6.77%
Whittlesea City Council2.50%4.31%
Wodonga City Council2.50%5.18%
Wyndham City Council2.50%5.40%
Yarra City Council2.50%3.97%
Yarra Ranges Shire Council2.50%6.44%
Yarriambiack Shire Council*2.23%6.14%

*Colac Otway Shire Council (0.50%), Glenelg Shire Council (2.10%), Hindmarsh Shire Council (1.90%), Hobsons Bay City Council (2.47%), Horsham Rural City Council (2.25%), Nillumbik Shire Council (2.25%), Southern Grampians Shire Council (2.48%), Strathbogie Shire Council (2.25%), Swan Hill Rural City Council (1.02%) and Yarriambiack Shire Council (2.23%) chose to declare rate increases lower than the 2.50% rate cap in 2019-20.

# Towong Shire Council and West Wimmera Shire Council were both successful in their applications to the Essential Services Commission (ESC) in 2017/18 for multiple year higher caps.

## In 2019/20 the ESC approved Mansfield Shire Council’s application for a single year higher cap of 13.94 per cent in order to transfer $1.2 million from waste charges into general rates on a revenue neutral basis.
The ESC also partially approved Warrnambool City Council’s application for higher caps of 4.5 per cent for three years (2019-20, 2020-21 and 2021-22) to address its renewal gap. The ESC approved the requested higher cap for 2019-20 and 2020-21 but not for 2021-22.