Average rate increases and rate caps by council

CouncilPublicised rate increase for 2018/19 (2.25% cap)Average rate increase from 2006/07 to 2015/16
Alpine Shire Council2.25%6.30%
Ararat Rural City Council *0.00%6.61%
Ballarat City Council2.25%6.37%
Banyule City Council2.25%6.94%
Bass Coast Shire Council2.25%7.75%
Baw Baw Shire Council2.25%6.82%
Bayside City Council2.25%5.57%
Benalla Rural City Council2.25%5.27%
Boroondara City Council2.25%5.76%
Brimbank City Council2.25%5.57%
Buloke Shire Council *2.00%6.12%
Campaspe Shire Council2.25%6.24%
Cardinia Shire Council2.25%5.96%
Casey City Council2.25%5.83%
Central Goldfields Shire Council2.25%7.33%
Colac Otway Shire Council *2.00%7.39%
Corangamite Shire Council2.25%5.49%
Darebin City Council2.25%5.46%
East Gippsland Shire Council2.25%5.60%
Frankston City Council2.25%6.28%
Gannawarra Shire Council2.25%5.71%
Glen Eira City Council2.25%4.98%
Glenelg Shire Council *1.00%8.73%
Golden Plains Shire Council2.25%8.86%
Greater Bendigo City Council2.25%6.06%
Greater Dandenong City Council2.25%6.64%
Greater Geelong City Council2.25%5.33%
Greater Shepparton City Council2.25%6.08%
Hepburn Shire Council2.25%6.89%
Hindmarsh Shire Council *2.00%6.30%
Hobsons Bay City Council2.25%6.80%
Horsham Rural City Council2.25%7.25%
Hume City Council2.25%6.38%
Indigo Shire Council2.25%6.33%
Kingston City Council2.25%6.58%
Knox City Council2.25%5.69%
Latrobe City Council2.25%5.50%
Loddon Shire Council2.25%4.92%
Macedon Ranges Shire Council2.25%5.74%
Manningham City Council2.25%5.87%
Mansfield Shire Council2.25%5.27%
Maribyrnong City Council2.25%5.69%
Maroondah City Council2.25%6.01%
Melbourne City Council2.25%-0.23%
Melton City Council2.25%4.35%
Mildura Rural City Council2.25%5.28%
Mitchell Shire Council2.25%8.23%
Moira Shire Council2.25%5.70%
Monash City Council ##2.25%5.92%
Moonee Valley City Council2.25%6.59%
Moorabool Shire Council **2.11%5.43%
Moreland City Council 2.25%5.61%
Mornington Peninsula Shire Council2.25%6.44%
Mount Alexander Shire Council2.25%7.54%
Moyne Shire Council2.25%4.60%
Murrindindi Shire Council *2.15%6.39%
Nillumbik Shire Council *1.95%7.53%
Northern Grampians Shire Council2.25%6.11%
Port Phillip City Council2.25%4.36%
Pyrenees Shire Council #3.50%6.08%
Borough of Queenscliffe2.25%5.42%
South Gippsland Shire Council *2.00%6.18%
Southern Grampians Shire Council2.25%5.86%
Stonnington City Council2.25%4.69%
Strathbogie Shire Council *1.90%7.75%
Surf Coast Shire Council2.25%6.46%
Swan Hill Rural City Council *2.05%5.07%
Towong Shire Council #4.80%4.95%
Wangaratta Rural City Council2.25%5.58%
Warrnambool City Council2.25%6.50%
Wellington Shire Council2.25%6.07%
West Wimmera Shire Council #3.50%6.02%
Whitehorse City Council2.25%6.77%
Whittlesea City Council2.25%4.31%
Wodonga City Council2.25%5.18%
Wyndham City Council2.25%5.40%
Yarra City Council2.25%3.97%
Yarra Ranges Shire Council2.25%6.44%
Yarriambiack Shire Council2.25%6.14%

* Ararat Rural City Council (0.0%), Buloke Shire Council (2.0%), Colac Otway Shire (2.0%), Glenelg Shire Council (1.0%), Hindmarsh Shire Council (2.0%), Murrindindi Shire Council (2.15%), Nillumbik Shire Council (1.95%), South Gippsland Shire Council (2.0%), Strathbogie Shire Council (1.9%) and Swan Hill Rural City Council (2.05%) chose to declare rate increases lower than the 2.25% rate cap in 2018/19.

** Moorabool Shire Council (2.11%) chose to declare a rate increase lower than the 2.25% rate cap in 2018/19 due to a prior year administrative error in their rate calculation.

# Pyrenees Shire Council, Towong Shire Council and West Wimmera Shire Council were all successful in their applications to the Essential Services Commission (ESC) in 2017/18 for multiple year higher caps.

## Monash City Council applied to the ESC in 2018/19 for a one year higher cap of 3.53%. The ESC approved an alternative higher cap of 2.57%. Monash City Council resolved not to accept the alternative higher cap and adopted a 2.25% rate rise in 2018/19.

Page last updated: 04/12/18