Terms of Reference



2023 Local Government Mayoral Advisory Panel

Purpose

1. The Local Government Mayoral Advisory Panel (LGMAP) is established by the Minister for Local Government under s24 of the *Local Government Act 2020* to provide advice to the Minister.

Functions

2. The functions of LGMAP are to advise the Minister on legislative, regulatory, strategic and policy decisions that impact the local government sector and present ideas and opportunities for improving the local government sector.

Length of Term

3. The LGMAP is a statutory advisory committee established on an annual basis. The term for each cohort of mayors ends on 20 October.

Membership

- 4. The group consists of the Chair and Mayors. In accordance with s24(3) of the Act, the members of the LGMAP must be appointed by the Minister and must include at least five Mayors.
- 5. In accordance with s24(5) of the Act, meetings of the LGMAP are to be chaired by the Minister.
- 6. To ensure a diversity of views, membership considers a variety of issues, including:
 - a) individual experience and expertise
 - b) diversity of the Victorian community, such as:
 - i. women
 - ii. culturally and linguistically diverse people
 - iii. young people
 - iv. LGBTIQ+ people
 - v. people with disability
 - vi. Aboriginal people
 - vii. people living in rural and regional Victoria.
 - existing participation in other committees and representation of constituencies to Government, and
 - d) representation of all council groupings¹, namely:
 - i. metropolitan councils



¹ Appendix 1 contains the list of councils contained in each council grouping

- ii. interface councils
- iii. regional city councils
- iv. large shire councils
- v. small shire councils.
- 7. The Minister may appoint members at any time for the remainder of the term of the LGMAP.
- 8. Should a member cease to be a Mayor, their membership of LGMAP will also cease.

Remuneration

9. All appointments to LGMAP are unpaid.

Meeting Schedule

10. It is expected the group will meet at least four times a year. The Chair may schedule extraordinary meetings as required.

Meeting Procedure

- 11. The meeting schedule and venue may be adjusted by the Chair. Where possible, members will be notified of any changes at least two weeks prior to the meeting date. In such circumstances, video and/or tele-conferencing arrangements can be established to facilitate the participation of members.
- 12. The Chair may invite others to LGMAP meetings. Members may also request the Chair invite other participants.
- 13. A record of meeting proceedings is kept. Circulation of such records is restricted to members.
 - a) A summary of presentations provided by panel members may be circulated to the broader local government sector at the discretion of the Chair.
- 14. Members can be reimbursed for out-of-pocket expenses such as travel, accommodation, meals and other incidental expenses associated with attendance at meetings and other work related to LGMAP. Written claims should be made to the Secretariat.

Agenda

- 15. The Chair sets the agenda for each meeting.
- 16. By invitation of the Chair, members may be offered the opportunity to present or lead a discussion at meetings on a pre-determined topic.
 - a) Presentations should focus on providing advice to the Chair based on members' experiences with a given topic.
 - b) The Secretariat will provide advice and guidance to members presenting to LGMAP.



Confidentiality and Conflicts of Interest

- 17. It is intended that LGMAP will be a forum for discussing proposed legislation, regulation and policies that may impact local government.
- 18. Members will be provided with information that may not be available in the public realm. It will be critical that LGMAP is seen as a group that can be trusted with confidential information. The panel's ability to fulfil its purpose will be severely hampered if that trust is undermined.
- 19. Any discussion and consultation, of information disclosed in meetings, with non-LGMAP members must be limited to information already available to the local government sector.
- 20. Information relating to confidential LGMAP discussions may not be disclosed without the Chair's prior approval.
- 21. Communication to, from and by LGMAP will be undertaken by the Chair with support of the Secretariat.
- 22. Members are appointed in their individual capacity to contribute their insights into the operations of councils and local government on issues affecting the sector. Members are not a representative of their region, council grouping or constituency.
- 23. LGMAP has no decision-making powers, however, members are expected to manage any potential conflicts of interest that arise and in accordance with the *Local Government Act 2020*.

Secretariat

- 24. Local Government Victoria provides secretariat support to LGMAP. The Secretariat will be responsible for assisting the Chair with meeting arrangements, correspondence, information management and financial issues related to the operations of the panel.
- 25. The Secretariat can be contacted by email at LGV-LGMAP-Secretariat@ecodev.vic.gov.au.



APPENDIX 1 LOCAL GOVERNMENT MAYORAL ADVISORY PANEL COUNCIL GROUPINGS

Metropolitan

- 1. Banyule City Council
- 2. Bayside City Council
- 3. Boroondara City Council
- 4. Brimbank City Council
- 5. Darebin City Council
- 6. Frankston City Council
- 7. Glen Eira City Council
- 8. Greater Dandenong City Council
- 9. Hobsons Bay City Council
- 10. Kingston City Council
- 11. Knox City Council
- 12. Manningham City Council
- 13. Maribyrnong City Council
- 14. Maroondah City Council
- 15. Melbourne City Council
- 16. Monash City Council
- 17. Moonee Valley City Council
- 18. Moreland City Council
- 19. Port Phillip City Council
- 20. Stonnington City Council
- 21. Whitehorse City Council
- 22. Yarra City Council

Large Shire

- 1. Bass Coast Shire Council
- 2. Baw Baw Shire Council
- 3. Campaspe Shire Council
- 4. Colac Otway Shire Council
- 5. Corangamite Shire Council
- 6. East Gippsland Shire Council
- 7. Glenelg Shire Council
- 8. Golden Plains Shire Council
- 9. Macedon Ranges Shire Council
- 10. Mitchell Shire Council
- 11. Moira Shire Council
- 12. Moorabool Shire Council
- 13. Mount Alexander Shire Council
- 14. Moyne Shire Council
- 15. South Gippsland Shire Council
- 16. Southern Grampians Shire Council
- 17. Surf Coast Shire Council
- 18. Swan Hill Rural City Council
- 19. Wellington Shire Council

Interface

- 1. Cardinia Shire Council
- 2. Casey City Council
- 3. Hume City Council
- 4. Melton Shire Council
- 5. Mornington Peninsula Shire Council
- 6. Nillumbik Shire Council
- 7. Whittlesea City Council
- 8. Wyndham City Council
- 9. Yarra Ranges Shire Council

Regional City

- 1. Ballarat City Council
- 2. Greater Bendigo City Council
- 3. Greater Geelong City Council
- 4. Greater Shepparton City Council
- 5. Horsham Rural City Council
- 6. Latrobe City Council
- 7. Mildura Rural City Council
- 8. Wangaratta Rural City Council
- 9. Warrnambool City Council
- 10. Wodonga City Council

Small Shire

- 1. Alpine Shire Council
- 2. Ararat Rural City Council
- 3. Benalla Rural City Council
- 4. Buloke Shire Council
- 5. Central Goldfields Shire Council
- 6. Gannawarra Shire Council
- 7. Hepburn Shire Council
- 8. Hindmarsh Shire Council
- 9. Indigo Shire Council
- 10. Loddon Shire Council
- 11. Mansfield Shire Council
- 12. Murrindindi Shire Council
- 13. Northern Grampians Shire Council
- 14. Pyrenees Shire Council
- 15. Borough of Queenscliffe
- 16. Strathbogie Shire Council
- 17. Towong Shire Council
- 18. West Wimmera Shire Council
- 19. Yarriambiack Shire Council

